Royal Caribbean cruise ships by age — newest to oldest

The newest Royal Caribbean cruise ship is always an exciting topic for cruise enthusiasts. With each new ship, Royal Caribbean pushes the boundaries of innovation and offers passengers the latest and greatest in amenities, cabins, restaurants, bars, and attractions. So, if you’re in the market for a Royal Caribbean cruise, it’s important to know which ship is the newest and most technologically advanced.

Currently, the newest Royal Caribbean cruise ship is Icon of the Seas, which is set to debut in January. It is the first of a new class of vessels for the line called the Icon Class. This ship is the largest in the Royal Caribbean fleet, as well as the largest cruise ship ever built by any line. With a gross tonnage of 250,800 and a passenger capacity of 5,610, Icon of the Seas promises to offer an unparalleled cruise experience.

But Icon of the Seas is not the only new ship in the Royal Caribbean fleet. Other relatively new ships include Wonder of the Seas, Odyssey of the Seas, Spectrum of the Seas, and Symphony of the Seas. These ships have all been sailing for the past six years and have attracted a lot of attention from cruise enthusiasts.

In total, Royal Caribbean operates 27 cruise vessels, with an average of one new ship entering the fleet each year. The line typically keeps its ships in service for around 20 to 30 years before retiring them. The oldest Royal Caribbean ship currently in operation is Grandeur of the Seas, which is 27 years old.

When it comes to comparing the newer and older Royal Caribbean ships, there is a noticeable difference in size and amenities. The newer ships are much larger and offer a wide range of activities and attractions. If you’re someone who enjoys a packed itinerary and wants plenty of things to do on board, you’ll want to opt for a newer ship built within the last 15 years.

On the other hand, the older Royal Caribbean ships, built in the 1990s and early 2000s, are smaller and have fewer venues on board. However, even these smaller ships still offer a lot of attractions compared to many vessels from competing cruise lines. Royal Caribbean is known for its bustling and activity-packed ships, regardless of their age.

To give you a better idea of the newest Royal Caribbean ships, here is a list of all the ships currently in operation, ranked from newest to oldest:

1. Icon of the Seas (2024)
2. Wonder of the Seas (2022)
3. Odyssey of the Seas (2022)
4. Spectrum of the Seas (2019)
5. Symphony of the Seas (2018)
6. Harmony of the Seas (2016)
7. Ovation of the Seas (2016)
8. Anthem of the Seas (2015)
9. Quantum of the Seas (2014)
10. Allure of the Seas (2010)
11. Oasis of the Seas (2009)
12. Independence of the Seas (2008)
13. Liberty of the Seas (2007)
14. Freedom of the Seas (2006)
15. Jewel of the Seas (2004)
16. Navigator of the Seas (2002)
17. Brilliance of the Seas (2002)
18. Radiance of the Seas (2001)
19. Adventure of the Seas (2001)
20. Enchantment of the Seas (1997)
21. Voyager of the Seas (1999)
22. Explorer of the Seas (2000)
23. Vision of the Seas (1998)
24. Rhapsody of the Seas (1997)
25. Majesty of the Seas (1992)
26. Empress of the Seas (1990)
27. Grandeur of the Seas (1996)

As you can see, Royal Caribbean offers a wide range of ships, from the newest and most technologically advanced to the more classic and smaller vessels. Each ship has its own unique charm and features, so it’s important to consider your preferences when choosing the perfect Royal Caribbean cruise.

Whether you’re looking for the latest and greatest amenities or a more intimate and traditional cruising experience, Royal Caribbean has a ship for you. With its commitment to innovation and passenger satisfaction, Royal Caribbean continues to set the bar for the cruise industry, ensuring that each new ship surpasses the last in terms of quality and excitement. So, if you’re planning a Royal Caribbean cruise, be sure to check out the newest ships and embark on an unforgettable voyage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *